Pretty paper.

20 May

One of the most exciting things about being on the client side of photography for me – besides the gorgeous photos – is the delight I feel over pretty packaging. It’s silly but undeniable, unwrapping a ribbon-clad, letterpressed box just makes the whole experience feel delightfully luxurious. I think it’s kind of like websites – if you’re a great photographer, but you’re posting on a blah template that you put no thought into, it takes a little something away from the swoon-worthiness of your photos. Of course, it doesn’t make them bad, and pretty packaging (or a pretty website!) never make up for poor photography. Bet let’s indulge a little, shall we?

I would love to start out by at least having some kind of letterpress business card. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve had people offer to pass on my business card, or ask for it personally, even at this early stage in Anni Cee. It may happen slowly (very, very VERY slowly, it feels) but eventually I’ll grow into a collection of pretty paper and packaging. My inspiration right now?

Jordan Ferney, Oh Happy Day

Love the negative space – from Once Wed

by Jessica Hische

We Heart Paper thank-yous

SimpleSong Designs Box

Do you have any pretty paper favorite resources, or extra little flourishes you love?

9 Responses to “Pretty paper.”

  1. Jessica May 20, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    All these are so cute! They’re all simple which I like but the first card is my favorite. :)

  2. kjpugs May 20, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    Ohhhh I love the yellow ones. They’re classic but modern, and really memorable!

  3. Layla May 21, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Love them. My faves are the first ones though – so different. Really stands out!

  4. Steph May 25, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Absolutely love the first ones and the yellow ones. Getting a business card like that would definitely stick out in my mind!

  5. Krysten May 25, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    I just love pretty paper =-)

  6. Married in Chicago May 25, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    I completely agree – the details can make a huge difference! A letter press business card sounds so memorable!

  7. Deidre May 25, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Love these!

    I don’t really know anything about paper designs or packaging, but I definitely appreciate when people put a little effort into stuff like that.

  8. Erin May 27, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    I love nice stationary, and could spend hours wandering around paper stores.

    I gave you a blog award. check it out! Happy 3 day weekend, too!

  9. Marissa May 27, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    When I planned our wedding I gathered all the business cards I collected and put them in a business card folder. I put all the ‘pretty’ ones at the front. They’re the vendors I looked into first. For me, its the ‘First Impression!’ When you choose your cards, I know they’ll fall into the ‘pretty’ ones :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

