I Do

26 Oct

As soon as we announced our engagement, we got a barrage of “where” and “when” questions. Luckily, we had already agreed on June of 2012 and a Chicago wedding.

So now I’m going to make a confession – in the midst of a crazy amount of online venue researching, we only actually visited one. Our list started out huge and varied – museums, Lincoln Park Zoo, various lofts and factories, and intimate spaces like A New Leaf. But practicality got in the way of all of these options, either because of cost or guest list.

And then I stumbled upon Salvage One.

What is Salvage One, you ask? Only Chicago’s finest architectural artifacts shop with vintage furniture, a huge event space, and a gorgeous outdoor space.

Maybe I should just show you:

The second we walked out of Salvage One after taking a tour, R turned to me and said “I couldn’t imagine getting married anywhere else after seeing that.” It’s perfect for us – big space for our huge families, room for the ceremony and reception, and a laid-back but still gorgeous atmosphere.

How did you decide on a venue? Did you know “the one” when you saw it?

3 Responses to “I Do”

  1. Michelle October 26, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    oh my god, my fiance said the exact same thing to me. We’re getting married there in June 2011!

  2. Emily B October 26, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    That is like my DREAM space. Color me totally jealous.

    We only looked at 2 venues and the 2nd one was just to “make sure” we really wanted to go with the first. Meaning the first venue we saw was the venue where we got married. I cried when I saw it and Josh said “This is the one. If it makes you cry, this is the one and we can stop looking.”

  3. Anni October 27, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    Michelle – congratulations! You should post some pictures after your wedding. I’d love to hear about your vendor experiences, we haven’t even started looking at caterers, etc.

    Emily – what Josh said is so sweet! Glad I’m not the only one. I’m not normally an impulsive person, so it was totally out of character for me!

Leave a Reply

