Flats, Redefined.

27 Oct

There’s a serious group of haters in the shoe world that says flats are homely or only for those select few willowy models who “don’t need” the height of heels. Well I’m 5′ tall and I disagree! I walk, dammit! Sometimes 3-4 miles a day, and it is not easy to do that in heels.

Apparently Rachel Comey agrees with me, because she’s constantly one-upping those flat-haters.

Case in point:

(LaGarconne)

and when in doubt, just make a statement. Via Chanel:

 

Any other unabashed flat-wearers out there? Where do you find your most fashionable flats?

2 Responses to “Flats, Redefined.”

  1. Emily B October 27, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    Ok here’s the thing: I WANT to like flats. I WISH I could wear them with confidence. And I do wear them when I know I’ll be walking/standing for long periods of time (living in the DC-area means lotssss of walking.) But I feel like they look really silly on me. I’m 5’5″ with pretty long limbs, but I have hips, thighs and a booty…flats make me look so stumpy! I love them on other people, I really truly do, but I have such a hard time making them work for me 😦 So you rock those flats, girlfriend! Haha, rock them for those of us who can’t!

  2. Married In Chicago October 28, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    I’m ALL about flats. I would actually go farther than that and say I’m anti-heels. They just seem so . . . impractical to me. I’m one of those women who think heels are some weird torture device designed by men to keep us down 🙂

Leave a Reply

