Happy Monday!

1 Nov

I hope everyone had a wonderful Halloween. I’m sure you’re all candied out this morning, so I thought I’d share with you one of my absolute favorite soup recipes for winter:

Split Pea and Sweet Potato Soup

(recipe and photo courtesy of Whole Foods, with a few modifications by me!)

Ingredients:

8 1/2 cups water
1/2 finely chopped onion, up to 1 if desired
1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger
2 cups dried yellow split peas
2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1/2 cup toasted pumpkin seeds

To make:

Using a large saucepan, simmer 1/2 cup of water on your stovetop over medium-high flame. At this point you can add your onion – I like to throw it in the food processor first. I really don’t like the texture of onions! Throw in the ginger and cook for a minute, stirring. Now you can put your remaining water, sweet potatoes, and peas in. Reduce heat to a simmer, cover and simmer for 1 hour. I come back to stir and check on it every ten minutes or so. The original recipe didn’t call for this, but I’m a little obsessive like that!

Remove lid and continue to simmer 15 minutes. Now you can purée the soup with your food processor until it’s smooth and creamy. I need to do this in batches, because our food processor is only a 7 cup. Poor into a pretty bowl or mug, and garnish with pumpkin seeds. Enjoy!

One Response to “Happy Monday!”

  1. Andnowlights (KMSull) November 1, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    This sounds SO good! I’ll have to try it soon! It’s almost winter here and that means it’s soup season!

Leave a Reply

