Cop Out! Or, my Survey Post

6 Nov

Hey guys, time to admit something: I haven’t been feeling much like writing the past few days. My favorite resident died unexpectedly (although he was elderly and in pain from his condition) and it really threw me for a loop. His funeral is today, and I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around it. Posting about anything else seems silly for today, but since Kelly posted this fun survey, I thought it’d take a few minutes to fill it out. And let you guys know I haven’t slipped off the face of the earth.

1. If you could only wear one color for the next 10 years, what would it be and why?

Grey or navy blue. I’m boring, I need my colors dark! I think half of the time I have to talk myself into why other colors would be better when buying clothes. My whole wardrobe is blacks, greys, blues, purples, neutrals, and a few bright pieces that don’t go with anything else.

2. If you had to replace the Internet with another activity for 10 days, what would it be and why?

Yoga. I would love it if I had a secret little yoga studio to sneak off to anytime. It’d need to be heated, though, because when I try to do yoga in my living room I shake uncontrollably. I’m ALWAYS cold.

3. What is your favorite thing to do on a day off?

Shop. Nothing gives me a high like having the money and time to walk over to Wicker Park/Bucktown and hit up the boutiques… and actually walk out with a few things.

4. What is the strangest food or food combination that you love to eat?

I don’t think my foods are weird, but I’m sure some people do! When I was a kid they were much more interesting, because I was a carbatarian (aka, a vegetarian who lived off carbs because I was too picky for vegetables) – so I’d make up weird concoctions like enchiladas with cottage cheese and cheddar cheese. Now I just throw veggies in everything. I made a burrito last night with spinach, black beans, seitan, potato, and avocado. It was to die for.

5. Who would you want to play you if a movie was made about your life?

Michelle Williams is the comparison I get most often (more when my hair was blonde.) All I can say is, I wish! I don’t know who I look like as a brunette.

6. Which TV show would you like to have a cameo in?

Mad Men. I think it’d be so fun to be made up/dressed up by their wardrobe people. They have the most amazing fashion on any TV show right now. I’m talkin’ to you, Project Runway!

7. What is your absolute favorite dessert item…either homemade or at a restaurant?

Yellow vegan cupcakes with chocolate frosting. My favorite bakery makes a recipe that I’m 99% sure is essentially the one from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, which is the one I make, too. But their frosting sets them apart.

8. Which accomplishment in your life are you most proud of and why?

Getting through freshman year of college in one piece. That sounds silly, but it was scary. My parents helped with my tuition, but as far as a place to live, food, etc, I was totally on my own. Rent prices are high in Chicago, and I had a kitty to feed, and it was my first time living with a roommate. I ended up working two jobs while going to school full-time to make it work. I’m pretty sure I was sometimes a walking zombie, but I made it, and it was a huge life experience. Luckily I’m down to one job, so things are more manageable now.

One Response to “Cop Out! Or, my Survey Post”

  1. kjpugs November 7, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    I loved your answers! I think I was a carbatarian too 🙂 I ate pretty much just carbs as a kid, I was SOOO picky. And I’m proud of you for making it work- too many people I know had life paid for and really don’t appreciate it like people who had to work for what they have do.

Leave a Reply

