I’m on fire.

16 Nov

First, you must listen to this song while reading this entry. Why? Because I said so!

Lately I have been contemplating a big life change.

Growing up, I always assumed that I’d have a very academic job. I considered myself very intellectual, although that mainly consisted of reading entire stacks of classic literature for the fun of it and being a Time subscriber at the age of 11.

I’m not nearly so naive now as to consider myself an intellectual, but I do thrive when reading all sorts of things about philosophy, literature, neuroscience, biology, and the like. I can’t claim to be very smart, but I like to read what I can on these things. So I always felt safer sticking to them.

As many of you know, I’m finishing up a B.S. in Psychology right now. I’ve absolutely loved my college experience, and I’d love for psychology to have a place in my life, although some of my grades have been far from perfect. But as the end of my college time nears, I’m contemplating a very different career path with much less stability.

That scares me half to death! But it’s so exciting at the same time.

 

3 Responses to “I’m on fire.”

  1. Married in Chicago November 18, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    That IS exciting! If you want my two cents (which you probably don’t, but I’ll share anyways) – don’t put too much pressure on yourself to decide what you are going to do with your life. Realistically, the majority of people end up switching careers as some point anyway 🙂

    And, just as a psychology aside, it is my impression that lots of students in clinical psychology programs come in after taking a few years off 🙂 I did and I’m sure grateful for that time!

  2. kjpugs November 18, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    We’re in a similar situation. I’ll fill everyone in at some point. But just letting you know that we feel ya!

    • Anni November 18, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

      My readers are the greatest. 🙂 Thanks you guys, I’m feeling the love!

Leave a Reply

