Farewell, 2010 (or hello, 2011)

31 Dec

After the wonderful and helpful comments on yesterday’s post, I thought I’d share my other (biggest) resolution with you all. It’s a scary one to admit out loud, especially in blogdom, where the Google cache never dies.

So, my pour-my-heart-into-it resolution for 2011 is to challenge myself as a photographer. Eventually, I’d like to become good enough to think about doing actual shoots. I don’t want it to be a hobby forever. My absolute favorite thing about photography is people. I love telling stories through the art of the photograph, and capturing the moments that are often missed otherwise.

Of course, it’s still fun using animals as models, too. 🙂

IMG_1044-Edit.jpg

 

Happy New Year’s to all my wonderful readers!

3 Responses to “Farewell, 2010 (or hello, 2011)”

  1. suburbianbliss January 4, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Well after seeing your most recent post I already think you are a very talented photographer! What kind of camera do you use? I want to get into photography but don’t have the money for a good camera right now. I think this is a great goal to have for the New Year – a lot more realistic than “I’m not drinking soda.” 🙂

    • Anni January 4, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

      Thanks! I’m currently shooting with a Canon 7D and a 35 f/1.4 lens. The 7D is a great camera, although I’d definitely spring for the 5D Mii if the money happened to fall my way, haha.

      I think good photography is so much more than the camera – some of my absolute favorite personal photos were taken on my old 35mm film Canon Rebel. When I bought this camera, I went for the more expensive lens over body and don’t regret it one bit! If you’re interested in shooting, you should definitely check out your local Craigslist ads for gently used DSLRs. There are lots of great deals on there.

  2. CaitStClair January 11, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    Oh wow! What kind of bird is THAT?! I think I need to go dig out my Sibley’s guide…

    And to be actually on topic, I think you definitely have a shot.

Leave a Reply

