Kitty/Canine Gift Exchange

6 Jan

We adopted our dog, Sunday, in May, so this was her first Christmas with us. Of course, we wanted to make it special, so when I came across Kelly and Hannah’s Kitty/Canine Gift Exchange on Kelly’s blog, I was excited!

Sunday was paired up with the adorable Bodie (and his owner Jessica of Heart on Homestead). Bodie is the most adorable little guy, and we had lots of fun shopping for him! You can see what we picked out here.

For whatever reason, we got the downside of the holiday mail service slog, and Sunday’s gift arrived right before New Year’s. I’m pretty sure that this has something to do with the fact that our USPS/UPS/FedEx carriers all hate courtyard buildings. In ours especially, you have to buzz into the main courtyard, and then another door leading up to each specific set of units. There have been days where I’ve waited at home for an important package, kept my phone by my side, and walked downstairs only to find a “addressee not reachable” notice on the gate. City living has its downsides, I guess!

But Sunday’s gifts came, and I think she likes them just a bit…
IMG_1278-Edit.jpg

(food is her first love. Bodie is clearly after her heart.)

IMG_1283-Edit.jpg

Of course, then she heard the toy squeak. My dog’s not easily distracted at all. She has the focus of a champion, I swear!

IMG_1292-Edit.jpg

(Her nose is more in focus than anything here. You try juggling a toy, a jumping dog, and a DSLR. Harder than it looks, huh?)

IMG_1243-Edit.jpg

I couldn’t be happier with how the gift exchange worked out! I love that I got the chance to “meet” new people online, and it was so fun seeing pictures of Bodie with the toys we picked out for him. We can’t wait until next year’s exchange!

10 Responses to “Kitty/Canine Gift Exchange”

  1. Mrs. Puma January 6, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Sunday is so pretty!

  2. Steph C. January 6, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    What kind of pup is she? So, so adorable! Looks like she absolutely adored her gifts 🙂

    • Anni January 6, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

      Aw, thanks! We think so (and probably spoil her a bit too much). She’s an Australian Shepherd, but definitely on the small side for the breed.

  3. Hannah January 6, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    I am so very happy this worked out so well for you! We’ll definitely be holding this again next year! Yay for Bodie and Sunday!

  4. Jessica January 6, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    Between your mail carrier and mine, we have serious problems! Haha!

    I’m so glad Sunday enjoyed her gifts, she really is a beautiful dog! The gift exchange was fun and I’m so glad we’ve gotten to know you guys through it. 😀

  5. serena @bigapplenosh January 6, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Awwww! Your pooch is just adorable! Love those eyes 🙂

  6. Nicole January 6, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    This is such a cool idea! I wish I had known about the gift exchange earlier, it’s such a cute idea!

  7. Kristin January 7, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    SUCH a pretty doggy!

  8. Katie February 3, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    Ohhh she is just so so pretty!!! I have a soft spot for Aussies, obviously 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Guest post: Jessica from Heart on Homestead « Lincoln Park on a Lark - April 4, 2011

    […] post because it comes from Jess, who is one of the most crazy awesome bloggers I know. Also, my dog hearts her dog.  So without further […]

Leave a Reply

