Bang-spiration.

9 Jan

Every winter, I get sick of my hair. I’m not sure if it’s because I’ve stopped all spending on myself – clothes, haircuts, etc – for at least 3-4 months, or if it’s because it’s so gross outside that I don’t seem to exercise, but it happens every year. And every January or February, I cave and go back to the salon and make at least one drastic change.

This year I’m extra tired of my hairstyle. I have really fine, thin hair, so it gets especially dry and frizzy in the winter. I tend to throw it up in a bun because that’s what’s easiest. Sometimes it looks cute, but when I let it go, it starts to look like… well, this:

 

See? Blah!

I promise my hair doesn’t always look like this. In fact, when I put effort into I think it actually looks pretty nice:

So I’ve been gathering inspiration photos, for the haircut at the very least. Mostly the bangs. Because right now they’re just plain limp and offensive. Blech.

Being the indecisive person that I am, I could use some help deciding which way to go.

Option #1:

Michelle Williams is so beautiful. Whatever she does to her hair, it looks great. Whatever she wears is always effortlessly chic as well. She’s even graceful in the spotlight, and raising a gorgeous daughter. We have similar coloring so I always look to her for makeup inspiration.

 

Option #2:

Carey Mulligan is also super cute.These bangs are a little shorter than I usual go, but they look so whimsical.

 

Option #3:

 

Marion Cotillard is my girl crush. These bangs are also probably closest to mine now, just shaped a little differently and cleaned up. Still gorgeous.

Any thoughts on which one would look the best? Should I go for a color change as well? What’s your go-to style pick up?

8 Responses to “Bang-spiration.”

  1. Hannah January 9, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    I like #1 & 2 the best because 3 looks like #2 outgrown. Does that make sense? I’m too scared for bangs though – I got them once in middle school and will never do it again!

  2. Jessica January 9, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    You could pull off any of those looks! You’re adorable, but personally, I’m a fan of long bangs because that’s the look I rock. 😉

    Can’t wait to see what you choose!

  3. Steph January 9, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    I’m personally a fan of the side bang (a la #3).. but any style would seriously suit you! You could always start out longer then go shorter if you want.. can’t wait to see!

  4. honeymyheart January 10, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    i like the side bang like #3, but just a bit shorter. also think you can pull off all 3 looks.

  5. Gogo January 10, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    How fun that you found my blog! Because I like yours lots as well.

    I badly wish bangs looked good with my face. But, alas, they do not. I vote number 1. But it’s tricky, because I a little bit want to be each of those girls and I might be imagining these bangs as a way to get there. Thus I also want to vote for all three.

  6. Christina January 10, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    I’m definitely a fan of the side bang, I have a friend that rocks a mean side bang… something I’m totally jealous of because my hair is always parted down the middle. Boring! Can’t wait to see which one you choose 🙂

  7. christi January 11, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    any of those looks would be adorable on you! i just went through the same thing the other week. i went in a for a bang trim and came out with a slighter shorter cut that i just love! i think it’s a combination of the weather and the holiday let-down. i always seem to do this in january and then by march and april i’m ready to have it a little longer with just bang trims. funny how that timing works out all on its own! looking forward to seeing what you end up doing.

  8. Layla January 12, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    I just freakin’ love Michelle Williams, so of course I have to vote for that one. But I honestly think any of them would look great on you. I think you have great eyebrows so not too much of a bang – you wouldn’t want to cover those bad boys up.

Leave a Reply

