The quickest, cheapeast fashion fix. Ever.

18 Jan

Fashion is a fickle thing. It’s easy to love if you have unlimited resources, or if you’re one of those incredibly lucky (P.S., I hate you) girls who walk into a thrift store and are hit over the head with gorgeous vintage pieces in the perfect size and condition.

What, that doesn’t happen to you, either? Guess it’s not just me.

My quick fix when I’m jonesing for a fashion cleanse but my bank account is dangerously low is nail polish. I buy a new shade about once a season, and I don’t exactly play it safe. I adore nail polish because it’s relatively risk-free: you’re not dumping a bunch of money into it, and if you don’t like the color you can just take it off. Unlike an ill-advised dye job, which not only damages your hair but costs a boatload of money to correct.

So let’s start with what I’m wearing – my old classic, Chanel Dragon. I bought this – unopened – off of Ebay (no joke, check it out!) and it’s my favorite shade to wear throughout seasons.

And what I’m coveting is a whole lot of glam (Deborah Lippman):

for something more subdued, I’d love some more Chanel:

Chanel Particulière nail polish, out in January

Do you have a similar fashion go-to when you’re itching to go on a shopping spree?

10 Responses to “The quickest, cheapeast fashion fix. Ever.”

  1. estelle January 18, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    This is a great idea. I think I am going to have to incorporate something similar in my life. Although, I think I have. Last year, I went three months without buying clothes (this is really good for me) but I would allow some accessories. Socks or jewelry and that sort of helped with the shopping fix. I love love love that last color btw!

  2. Maria January 18, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    I lurv nail polish and the quick pick me up it provides 😀

  3. Steph January 18, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    I am loving the Deborah Lippman glam polish.. a nice mani and pedi always make me feel better 🙂

  4. Jessica January 18, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    I’m a huge fan of red and glitter nail polish!!!

  5. Mrs. Puma January 18, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    Nail polish on ebay? Brilliant! I love that last Chanel color too. I’m a sucker for a new pair of shoes when I have the shopping itch. But that hasn’t worked out well for me lately thanks to my finances, so I’ve been opting for cheap jewelry. Like Forever 21 cheap.

  6. Kristin January 18, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Those are super pretty colors! I used to change my nail color every week in high school but I’ve gotten sloppy now. Love that first color, classic and perfect with everything!

  7. Cole January 20, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    I love this idea! I’ve been trying to hold off on buying clothes and it’s sooooo boring!
    I can’t wear nailpolish because I chip my nails all day long at work but I love the way it looks so much!

  8. serena @bigapplenosh January 21, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    I looove the third color!

  9. Christina January 26, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    I really love OPI polish. My favorite colors right now are shades of pale, shimmery pink. I love how acrylic nails look on my hands, but I hate paying to get them done/filled/etc. Polish does the trick for MUCH less!

  10. Kali January 26, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Totally lol’d at your comment about girls always finding amazing vintage pieces that work out so perfectly for them. I can NEVER find anything good for me in a thrift store. Grr.

    Anyway, great post. Chanel nail polish probably works a lot better than my forever21 polish stash.

Leave a Reply

