Inked.

28 Jan

Hi guys, remember me? I used to blog here before life got crazy and I stopped having time to do anything but hit the pillow on my off hours.

Well, I made a pretty permanent change this week. Completely permanent, in fact: I got a tattoo! It’s my very first tattoo, and I planned it for about two years. The saga was a pretty long and boring one, mostly full of me thinking “ohmygod, do I really want to go through with this?” Somewhere in between all the freakout moments, I contacted the amazingly talented Cynthia of Cynthia Warren Design. She graciously agreed to design my garbled concept of tattoo. I think she did an amazing job, but you can judge for yourself!

So this past week, one of my very best friends was coming to the city to have a consult for her next tattoo. She’s one of those gorgeous, brave people who lets her body be her canvas. I’m not that brave, nor do I trust my fifty-year-old self enough to stay in shape and not fall prey to saggy tattoo syndrome so forearm it is. Anyway, I made an appointment at Deluxe Tattoo with Kit Hall.

She was awesome at putting up with me, the nervous tattoo virgin. I was surprised at how little the actual tattooing hurt, and how quickly it was over. We chatted for about ten minutes and voila, I had a tattoo!

The end result?

17 Responses to “Inked.”

  1. Steph January 28, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    BEAUTIFUL. I love it. I too have a forearm tat and it’s one of my favorites.

    I especially love the font. So glad it didn’t hurt too much for you!

  2. Layla January 28, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    I LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!!!!!

  3. Jessica January 28, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    I LOVE IT!!!!! It’s awesome.
    You got it in a pretty tender spot, you must handle pain well. The one on my foot hurt like a mother! Haha

  4. estelle January 28, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    I LOVE IT SO MUCH! I’ve actually been strongly considering getting a tattoo myself. I’m hoping that my sister and I can both go together for her 21st birthday. I thought it would be a fun bonding experience.

    I do have a question. I really wanted to get one on my wrist but my hubby-to-be was concerned about going to work. Are you going to wear long sleeves to cover it? (I’m not sure what you do.) He has a lot of tattoos on his arms, and wears long sleeves even in the summer. Ack!

    So I was thinking of doing it on my shoulder. This was a long comment! Hope you have a super weekend! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Anni January 28, 2011 at 10:27 am #

      Thanks! I am glad I went with a friend, for sure. It really calmed my nerves.

      As for work… right now my job allows tattoos (I take care of elderly people) but it’s still something I considered for the future. With a tattoo this size, I’d definitely need to wear long sleeves to cover it. Not a problem for me, because I am pretty much always cold inside, even in the summer. If you’re not sure you’re up for that, you could either consider somewhere else, like the shoulder, or a lighter ink. My old roommate had a wrist tattoo in a gorgeous light purple/grey ink, and it was hard to see from a distance, but up close looked pretty. I think she had to get it touched up a few times, though, because it was so light.

      Hope that helps! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Kristin - Mrs. Glasses January 28, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    It looks awesome! I love the font. I want a tattoo but I’ve decided to wait till I’m 27 and if I still want the same thing I’ll take the plunge!

  6. Maria January 28, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Sah-weeet! That is a really pretty font!

  7. marissa January 28, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Beautiful! The lettering is lovely + I adore the words you chose!

  8. set2music January 28, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Wow, that looks great! I am much too indecisive and wimpy to get a tattoo, but this is perfect for you!! =D

  9. CaitStClair January 29, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Gorgeous! That turned out REALLY well!

  10. bhambride January 30, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    lovely script!

  11. Married in Chicago February 1, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    I would have never thought of contacting a designer to design a tattoo – that is SUCH a brilliant idea!

  12. Emily B February 1, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    I’m way late to the tattoo party, but OMG I love it!! Very well done ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Gogo February 11, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    So rad.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Allison. « Lincoln Park on a Lark - January 30, 2011

    […] HomeAbout Me Lincoln Park on a Lark « Inked. […]

  2. Workspace inspiration. « Lincoln Park on a Lark - May 9, 2011

    […] Warren (she designed my tattoo and my gorgeous […]

  3. Tattoo 42 » Blog Archive » Be your own tattoo creator - June 26, 2011

    […] Source: 1, 2, 3, […]

Leave a Reply

