Snow- pocalypse and a giveaway winner.

2 Feb
We woke up this morning to what can only be described as total snow domination of Chicago. I didn’t believe the blizzard hype they were sprouting off about, but I do now! There were ridiculously large drifts of 2+ feet, some even blocking doorways. It looked pretty magical, and Sunday was loving jumping through it, until we got two blocks east, to the lake. Apparently that’s where those 50 mph winds are residing, and let’s just say it’s a good thing R was there because I was almost blown away. Still, it looks pretty magical out. There are kids sledding up and down the street, and we’re all shut in for the day.
Since I’m warm and cozy with a cup of coffee now, I’m especially happy to announce the winner of my giveaway! Congratulations to…
Katie, I hope you enjoy the gift card and the black and white cookies. DM me your address on Twitter and you can expect them sometime next week (seeing as how this whole snowpocalypse thing really put a crimp in my productiveness for the week!)
Everyone else who entered, thank you so much! I was blown away by the huge number of entries and new readers. You all are awesome readers, and I can’t wait to figure out what my next giveaway will be.
12 Responses to “Snow- pocalypse and a giveaway winner.”

  1. Steph February 2, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    I thought of you when I saw how badly Chicago was getting hit.. stay safe!!

    So bummed I don’t get to try your B&W cookies ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But congrats to Katie!

    • Anni February 2, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

      Aw, thanks for thinking of me! We’re enjoying our rare day when we’re both off and home together. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Megan February 2, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    The funny thing about snow is I love to look at it and take photos of it, but for me, it’s too friggin cold lol. The photo is goregous!

  3. Layla February 2, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    YAY KATIE!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. set2music February 2, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    congrats, katie!! =)

  5. Jessica February 2, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Congrats to Katie!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Enjoy your time off in the snow.

  6. Cole February 2, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    The wind is a killer here too. I made my hubby walk down the alley to get me brownies and as soon as we were at a cross street it felt like we were in a sandstorm.
    Stay warm!

  7. Kristin - Mrs. Glasses February 2, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Eeek! So much snow! Hope you’re able to make the best of it!

  8. Jessica @ One Shiny Star February 2, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    I can’t imagine how a city manages to function with that much snow! I mean… it would be impossible to dig out all of those cars, because as you dig one out you cover another… or add snow the road! Do employers like… build in snow days, or do you just have to walk?!

    • Anni February 2, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

      We usually have to trek through the snow, but this storm was way worse than usual (winds + snow at 70 mph right on Lake Shore Drive) – bad enough that most places closed. In that case, if you’re salaried it’s just a day off, per hour you lose out on the money. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ A lot of offices have people work from home.

      We still can’t get our car out! Not that we’d try right now, no one’s supposed to drive if they can avoid it, so it’ll be public transit for a few days.

  9. Katie February 3, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    Hoooooray! I’m so excited…and this gives me a great excuse to go to Starbucks, when I usually am trying to talk myself out of it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegan black and white cookies. « Lincoln Park on a Lark - February 6, 2011

    […] So anyway, tonight, I’m saying “what super bowl?” and whipping up a batch of cookies for my giveaway winner. […]

Leave a Reply

