Vegan black and white cookies.

6 Feb

This might be blasphemy to some of you, but I don’t like sports. I enjoy the occasional baseball game with friends (mostly it’s the friends and beer) but beyond that, I do yoga and I ride horses. Sometimes, if I’m feeling especially motivated, you’ll catch me running – that’s about the extent of my sportiness. I don’t care about home teams or rivalries, and I kind of hate the Cubs now. This is because I made the mistake of moving to Wrigleyville my first year in the city (on Addison, no less) but that’s a story for another time.

So anyway, tonight, I’m saying “what super bowl?” and whipping up a batch of cookies for my giveaway winner.

I wish I could have sent them out to all fifty-something people who entered the giveaway but I’m going to do the next-best thing and share the recipe with you so you can make your own anytime you feel like it.

The recipe I use is out of Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar by vegan goddess (AKA Isa Chandra Moskowitz). I do make a few little adjustments, but the genius is all hers.

New York City Style Black and White Cookies

1 cup unsweetened soy milk
2 teaspoons lemon juice
1/2 cup canola oil
1 1/4 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1/4 cup corn starch
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon sea salt

Mix the soy milk and lemon juice in a bowl by themselves in a medium-sized bowl and let them sit for a minute or two. They should curdle slightly. Then just add the rest of your wet ingredients and whisk until frothy. Add the dry ingredients together in a larger bowl, and whisk to remove any lumps. Poor your wet ingredients into the dry ingredient bowl and mix together.

Make sure you space them out about 3″ apart from each other on the lightly greased cookie sheet, because they do spread. Bake them at 350 for 18-20 minutes, and after taking them out of the oven, flip them over onto the cookie sheet or cooling rack. It’s the flat side that you frost.

You make the white icing first, by mixing 4 cups of powdered sugar with 1/4 cup of boiling water (plus more as needed) and a drop of vanilla. Ice the cookies with a thin layer of the white icing all over, then melt 2/3 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and add it to the leftover icing with a whisk and frost the other half of the cookies. You may need to heat more water and add it in small increments if the chocolate icing is too thick.

Enjoy!

13 Responses to “Vegan black and white cookies.”

  1. Layla February 6, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    These look amazing. I sincerely wish I had won them!

  2. Kristin February 6, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    Looks yummy!

  3. shelikesruffles February 7, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    Yummmm! I can’t wait to try them 😉 Hehe…

  4. Jessica February 7, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    I’m so jealous that Kate won these cookies! I may have to make myself a batch to make myself feel better. 😉

  5. Steph February 7, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    Thank you for sharing the recipe!! I so want to try them.

  6. Natalie February 7, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    These kind of cookies are on my must-try list. Somehow I’ve been to NYC twice and never tried them. Sad! I need to seize the day and just try them. Or bake them, with this recipe!

  7. Sandy a la Mode February 7, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    oh yum! these cookies look uber delish!!

  8. Cole February 7, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Those look soo yummy! You’re making me even more jealous we don’t have a stove!

  9. colleen February 9, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Oh my word those look delicious. I love black and white cookies and these look like the best!

  10. tinnystrings June 23, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    Baking these right now (and not for the first time!). They’re soooo delicious… Just had a taste. Mine are a bit crispy on the ‘tops’ and soft throughout. Perfection.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why I hate extreme veganism. « Lincoln Park on a Lark - February 7, 2011

    […] HomeAbout Me Lincoln Park on a Lark « Vegan black and white cookies. […]

  2. Sweet potato gratin. « Lincoln Park on a Lark - February 16, 2011

    […] to make yourself eat more. It’s a curse, I swear. And then you discover things like Daiya and vegan cookies and it’s all […]

  3. Sweet potato gratin. « Lincoln Park on a Lark - February 16, 2011

    […] make yourself eat more. It’s a curse, I swear. And then you discover things like Daiya and vegan cookies and it’s all […]

Leave a Reply

