Design envy.

21 Feb

We have one rug in our entire hardwood floored apartment. It’s in the bathroom, because who wants to get out of the shower with no rug? Beyond that, not even the kitchen sink area gets a rug. Why? Partially because I’m prone to tripping when I cook, and the rug we had there from the previous tenants kept getting under my feet. Also because in order to fill our kitchen you just have to stick both arms straight out. Ta-da! You’ve measured out my kitchen. Have I mentioned that we have one counter, and that it’s not even as deep as a regulation counter? Okay, that’s a gripe for another time. (PS, the apartment is worth it because it has gorgeous architecture and a beautiful living room.)

About that living room – it’s the room we poured all of our design dollars into. We moved in with next to no useable furniture after years of living with roommates. Our couch the previous year had been a family friend’s gift, and it was a huge La-Z-Boy style monstrosity. Great for four broke college students sharing a massive two bedroom apartment, not so great for two broke college students sharing a small one bedroom. It wouldn’t even fit in the door to our new building, let alone up the stairs.

Enter our new couch. It’s from Anthropologie, and it’s the antithesis of the tan La-Z-Boy beast of a couch. It’s cute, comfortable, and definitely a statement piece:

I love it, and it works well with our variety of wood finishes (pine, walnut, espresso and white. I’m indecisive) in the room but there’s just not much room for another bold pattern. Which is why I’m sitting here today trying to reconcile by love of this rug via Design*Sponge:

It’s gorgeous and if you look closely, it’s made up of tiles that fit together instead of one big rug, allowing you to create different sizes depending on preference. I love the way they don’t match up completely perfectly, and I love how bold the pattern is. Of course, until we either reupholster the couch (which I wouldn’t do for a long time, because I love it) or move into a place that has a bedroom big enough to actually fit a rug, this won’t work. Sad!

Do you have any design pieces that you are crazy for but just can’t make work in your current home?

9 Responses to “Design envy.”

  1. Layla February 21, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    Rugs are so impossible. It seems like every time I find one I love enough to put in my own, it costs as much as a new car. I have a lot of Ikea rugs throughout the house – a small shag under my coffee table (it needs to be much bigger) a round one at the front door, another round one in front of the fridge and a rug from….Bed Bath & Beyond, I think…in front of the sink in the kitchen. But I’d LOVE a giant, gorgeous rug under our dining room table and a larger one for our living room. I just can’t ever pull the trigger on something that expensive!

  2. kelsey@mintedlife February 21, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    I love that rug!! What about in a different room?

    • Anni February 21, 2011 at 9:28 am #

      Layla has me thinking the dining room would be perfect – of course, I don’t have the money right now! Maybe it won’t sell out?

  3. Cole February 21, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    I love that rug & sofa! (And I’m jealous your sofa is Anthro) What if you got a neutral colored rug and painted it with a chevron pattern? That way you could have a patterned rug but it wouldn’t clash with your sofa.

  4. Steph February 21, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    LOVE your couch. The rug is amazing as well, but I would definitely keep the couch in its original pattern for a while – too unique!

    Area rugs are great but such a pain to find a good one in a good color/pattern in a good size at a good price. We’ve been looking for over a year for one for our living room and we keep striking out 😦 Hopefully they’ll still have that rug when you’re ready for it!

  5. Jessica @ One Shiny Star February 21, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    I always want to incooperate funky cool pieces… but all of my furniture is tan, so I have a hard time finding things that I like. lol.

  6. Jessica February 21, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Your couch is GORGEOUS. The fact that the rug comes in tiles is genius, that’s a great idea! If you get it, be sure to keep us posted. 🙂

  7. Married in Chicago February 21, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    I think I just saw that rug in the new flor catalog, yes? Why not use it in a hallway or bedroom?

  8. Cait February 22, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    just came across your blog 🙂 love it!! the rug is sooo difficult to find! i would def use it in the bedroom or hallway too!

Leave a Reply

