The wedding cupcake.

28 Feb

It’s a dreary Monday and I’d like to brighten up your day a bit with this post. Have I told you all much about our wedding details? No? Well, that’s probably because I’m not exactly on top of things. But we have been pretty darn excited about the whole dessert shebang at the wedding.

I really dislike traditional wedding cakes. Fondant drives me crazy, and unless you have awesome sleuthing skills or connections, it’s tough to find a genuinely finger-licking good cake with any sort of budget.

But finger-licking good cupcakes are right down the street from us. These cupcakes have a special place in my heart, because they were the first vegan dessert I ever had that was better than its non-vegan counterpart. I was one of those baking snobs who thought that without eggs and butter, it just wasn’t worth it. Boy was I wrong.

These cupcakes (from Molly’s Cupcakes) are the one sweet I will never be able to give up. In the warmer months, we love walking our dog to their outdoor patio some Sunday mornings and drinking our coffee with two cupcakes to go. So it seemed fairly obvious to us that some kind of cupcake table could be epic, and leave no one missing the so-called quintessential wedding cake. Since we’re getting married here in the city we’re looking forward to introducing all of our guests to Molly’s – we hope everyone else loves them as much as we do!
I haven’t found my perfect dessert-table set up yet (okay, I did a Google search during this post and it didn’t turn anything amazing up. I’m a wedding slacker) but this is my favorite so far – I love the thought of simple serving trays or cake stands with little calligraphy cards to tell you what flavor each cupcake is.
For the newlyweds out there, what did your dessert table look like? Did you incorporate anything out of the ordinary?
20 Responses to “The wedding cupcake.”

  1. Jessica Lynn February 28, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    That’s somewhat similar to how ours looked. We had a long cake table, but there were five different flavors of cupcakes surrounding a two-tiered cake. It was fantastic and I loved itβ€”I especially love the photos. Cupcakes are divine.

  2. Steph February 28, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Love the inspiration picture!
    Cupcakes are the way to go.. I’m sure people won’t be missing a cake. Just looking at the first picture has me drooling!

  3. Jessica February 28, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Yum, I’m sure your guests will love the cupcakes! I like the set up in the picture, it’s simple and the guests will be able to grab the flavor they like easily. πŸ™‚

  4. Marissa February 28, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    We had wedding cupcakes! We had a little 8″ round cake made for cutting into at the reception and our cupcakes were on tiered cupcake stands. The cupcakes were my absolute favorite wedding detail. The frosting was made to look like roses. =]

  5. Mrs. JYW February 28, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    I WANT ONE!!!!!! NOMNOMNOM

  6. Emily February 28, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    if we didn’t have an amazing bakery in our neighborhood, we probably would have gone the cupcake route. and honestly, those look amazing!

  7. Cole February 28, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    I love the idea of cotton candy on a dessert table! Wonderful!

  8. Kristin February 28, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Love me some wedding cupcakes. We had them, along with pie, cake, and cookies!

  9. Olivia Leigh March 1, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    You’ll have to see this sweets table i shot last week. It was incredible and very unique. Also recommend checking out Amy Atlas. She has the cutest sweets tables that are very inspiring (and very along the lines of the above with bold colors and modern feel).

  10. Married in Chicago March 1, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Yum! I love cup cakes! For our wedding my husbands aunt made us a traditional Jamaican wedding cake and a red velvet cake. We served small slices of both of them on each plate. I gave her complete control over what they cakes looked like because I just didn’t want to stress out about it!

  11. Blueberries For Me March 1, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I was anti-wedding cake too. It always tastes frozen and dry to me. So we had pie. My vision was to have them on these cake stands I had made by gluing glass plates to vases from Goodwill. But my aunts (they did all the set up) decided to leave the pies in the boxes so they would be fresh. So the display wasn’t darling at all, but man oh man, people haven’t stopped talking about the pie!
    And my mom about died that we were having pie, so she insisted my aunt make a mini cake to cut. She ended up making a whole wedding cake. It was beautiful – butter cream frosting (no fondant), fresh flowers, some pretty (though not Food Network) piping. And nobody had a clue it was homemade. People kept coming up to me and raving about the pie and cake. Now I have never complemented a bride on their wedding cake (except my cousin who had carrot cake), so I knew it had to be good!

  12. melissa March 2, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    we had cupcakes at our wedding too! it is the way to go πŸ˜‰

    beautiful blog by the way! and thanks for the sweet comment πŸ™‚

  13. Natalie March 2, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Oh, I love that inspiration picture! Love it!

  14. Layla March 2, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    We had cupcakes and a dessert reception, and our tables looked very similar to that! I wish I had pics, I’d show you. :*(

  15. Krissy - Shiawase Life March 3, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Hi Anni!

    I love your inspiration pic! I had so many ideas when it came to our desserts and such for our wedding, and eventually went with a candy buffet that featured candies from Japan, since that’s where I grew up! It was very popular, I’d say, even more than the open bar! LOL….

    =)

  16. Krissy - Shiawase Life March 3, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    Oh btw we actually did have a wedding cake and we had tons of compliments on it! Our “secret” = we ordered a grocery store cake!!! (Publix)

    http://www.weddingchicks.com/2010/01/26/diy-wedding-with-lovely-parasols/

    It was tasty and NO fondant!! =D

  17. jacin {lovely little details} March 10, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    i love wedding cupcakes!!

  18. bryan March 15, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    we are having vegan cupcakes too πŸ™‚

  19. wedding invitation wording examples September 23, 2014 at 9:12 pm #

    There is some truth to this notion because taking photographs is enjoyable and because of this, people seeking
    for photography services are bound to discover that there will always be someone to photograph their most
    memorable event for a lesser cost. In 1990, she opened up
    her own design salon in New York, and this is where
    her trademark wedding gowns started taking off. This means that elements, styles and fashion popular
    during these times will be infused in the wedding.

  20. Carina October 1, 2014 at 7:30 am #

    Our wedding photography is a mix of styles with a relaxed and natural approach
    – because often the best photos are taken when you simply laugh,
    smile, and enjoy your day. Use these helpful tips to find the style that
    suits you now. The designer also collaborated with a party favor company to create a limited-edition collection of matching wedding invitations.

Leave a Reply

