Apartment life: the kitchen.

4 Mar

Our apartment is part updated, part original vintage. I love it for that – the luxury of granite countertops, the beauty of the hardwood floors and architecture. I could go into the pain in the ass vintage pipes that left us without hot water for two days this week, two days last month, and the month before… but really, where’s the fun in that?

Apartment-dwellers, and city people in general know the apartment conundrum well: unless you’re rich, or willing to live on the outskirts of the city, you make the most of your space. Which is probably small. Exhibit A? Our kitchen:

See the pile of baking pans and cookware on the top of the refrigerator? That’s their home because we’re out of cabinet space and don’t know where else to put them. But some people (not naming any names, but it was a certain 6’2″ individual who forgets that not everyone can SEE the top of the fridge when they’re opening the freezer door) are a little careless when stacking said bakeware, and our lovely All Clad Copper Core skillet came crashing towards my head the other day.

Don’t worry, I have secret ninja skills and I actually caught it. No bashed heads here!

Anyway, we’ve been considering a kitchen cart. We are sorely lacking counter space as well. Exhibit B:

You try rolling out a pie crust on there! No bueno. So, we’re thinking of getting a kitchen cart. There’s only one place it could go, meaning our garbage can holder would have to go. Which I feel guilty about, because it was a gift. But I think I’m going to cry if I knock over one more plate/bowl/glass/bottle because there’s not enough space to cook a full meal in here!

My favorite part of our whole kitchen? This little nook. Isn’t it fun?

So, any space-saving recommendations? Or kitchen cart raves?

10 Responses to “Apartment life: the kitchen.”

  1. Blueberries For Me March 4, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    That nook is darling.

    Our kitchen (though a bit bigger than yours) has zero counter space. I’ve been using my kitchin aid to knead bread cause its just so much easier than trying to clear some room. And it usually turns out better that way anyway!

  2. Steph March 4, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    No counter space is so hard for when you look to cook and/or bake! I like the kitchen cart idea, could definitely work!

    Our old apt. had very little cabinet space, so we ended up putting dry goods on an extra bookshelf in the “dining room”. Not the nicest looking, but it worked!

  3. Jessica March 4, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Oohhh hey, I spy a valentine. 😉

    Our kitchen is awful, I have nowhere to put all my pots and pans. I’ll have to clear off Kevin’s junk and stick some on top of the fridge!

  4. Kelsey March 4, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    I think a cart is a great idea! And, I’ve heard of a lot of people using the underside of their cabinets for items to get them off the counters.

  5. Layla March 4, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    I actually love your little kitchen. Yes, it’s a small space which I’m sure is endlessly annoying but it totally makes up for it with character, which most sorely lack. I love the window above the door and the nook. More pics of the apartment, please!!

    • Anni March 4, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

      I’m planning on it soon! I just really need to get my act together and clean. I never seem to have the whole place clean at once.

  6. Dancy March 4, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    I kinda love your kitchen. LOVE the wood grain in the floor. Also, we don’t even have a dishwasher – I’d kill for one. Go home & give your dishwasher a little affectionate pat for me. LOL

  7. Jessica @ One Shiny Star March 4, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    You could purchase some simple long shelves to hang over your counter. If they are not too deep, they won’t impede using that counter (for things smaller than pie crusts).

    At our old apartment we hung up a shoe holder (the kind that is just a bunch of pockets that you hang up on the back of the door), and I used it to store food stuffs, like the olive oil and other small food stuffs! If you don’t have a door to hang it on, you might be able to nail something like that to the wall across from the fridge. I found a plastic one (in case something spills).

    Like this, so you can see everything in it:
    http://www.walmart.com/ip/Household-Essentials-Storage-and-Organization-24-Pocket-Over-the-Door-Shoe-Organizer/15712053

  8. Kristin March 5, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    IKEA! They have great kitchen carts, and great nail-to-the-wall hooks that provide great storage solutions. Have fun!

  9. Married in Chicago March 5, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    I feel you on the lack of storage! Do you think you can add some shelving? Its hard to tell from the picture, but it looks like the wall above your counter doesn’t have cabinets on it. Maybe put some open shelves there?

Leave a Reply

