Wanderlust.

23 Mar

I adore traveling. When I get to choose where to go and what to experience, I could go explore new cities each month. I’ve always felt this way, but recently I’ve been feeling especially cooped up. As much as I love Chicago, it’s been my home for almost as long as anywhere has. There’s a lovely familiarity that comes with knowing your city so well, and the wonderful thing about Chicago is that there are always new nooks and crannies, neighborhoods and places, to explore. But I’m a little bit of an adventure junkie, and I miss the way that I took in the city the first few months I lived here. I was hyper aware of every little thing that seemed amazing – the architecture, the sidewalk cafes, the hustle of the people.

So we’ve been scrimping lately to try to find time for a weekend away. It’s been tough deciding on a location, because we’re kind of picky people. I wish we could go somewhere tropical, but those places aren’t really in our price range right now, and we want something a bit more adventurous than a resort.

Our top choice was actually New York City. Neither of us has ever been, which seems horribly wrong somehow.

But, um, have you seen the hotel prices in NYC? We could probably swing it, if we didn’t, you know, eat that weekend.

We also considered Key West (we’ve been, and love it) and Miami but we’ve explored both and kind of want someplace newer to us, that we can see with new eyes. We’ve talked about New Orleans, Boston, Seattle, and Portland. So far, though, the top of our list is Washington D.C. It’s kind of a funny choice, because we’ve both been there (together-ish, on a school trip about eight years ago) but neither of us feel like that counted since we were shipped around from monument to monument while watching a ridiculously obvious Christian rip-off of Remember the Titans.

We’re not sure when we’ll be able to go, but we’re hoping to wrangle a good deal on a hotel (my current favorite is the Normandy just outside of the Dupont Circle area) – in the meantime, anyone have any must-hit spots in D.C. (non-touristy) I’d love to hear them!

(All photos courtesy of Jetsetter.)

16 Responses to “Wanderlust.”

  1. Jessica March 23, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    A DC blogger meet up would be a must if you came!

    However, I can’t recommend anything because even though I’ve lived two hours away from our nations capitol for ten years, I’ve only been twice!

    • Steph March 23, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

      I second Jessica, we all must meet up if you come to DC!

      You must visit Georgetown.. just to walk around at least and to check out the canal. It’s just beautiful.

      I also really enjoy Malcom X park near Columbia Heights.. they have these super fun drum circles going on Sunday mornings!

      It’s late and I can’t think of other places right now, but I’ll let you know if/when I come up with more!

  2. Amanda Cadle March 23, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    You should definitely go to Chinatown, especially if you’re trying to save money…it’s where all the cheap places to eat are πŸ˜‰

  3. Amanda March 24, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    I’ve never been to DC but I just wanted to chime in and say I’m totally jealous – I’ve always wanted to go! I hope it’s wonderful! πŸ™‚

  4. Andnowlights (KMSull) March 24, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    I don’t know how big of a gambler you are, but I’ve used the “name your own price” on Priceline to pretty good success. It takes a huge leap of faith though, and some not caring about what you actually end up with but I think it’s so fun. AC hates it, though, so he lets me do it. They do big chains and not smaller, cute hotels, though.

  5. loftyappetite March 24, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    Staying in DuPont is probably the best. It’s a very young and fun area. Like others mentioned Georgetown is pretty and a great place to do some shopping. Chinatown has great restaurants(not only asian! its got it all)Also, Eastern Market is really fun to go to. It’s historic and really quaint and fun. Great place to take photos and has a stunning view of the capitol. If you walk from there to the capitol there’s a whole line of cheap and original restaurants along the way. If you are going in the next 3 weeks you will be here for the cherry blossom festival!

    • Maddie March 24, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

      I went to college in Georgetown and spent two more years in DC! So for G-town fun, I’d recommend having pastries at Kafe Leopold, and walking around the grounds of Dumbarton Oaks for the gorgeous gardens. And I totally second loftyappetite’s suggestion of Eastern Market, too.

  6. Andrea March 24, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    If you’re looking for more non-touristy nightlife, head to downtown Bethesda. It’s just outside of DC, and it has a great, young crowd.

    • Emily B March 26, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

      WOO HOO! I second the Bethesda idea πŸ™‚

  7. Cole March 24, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    I’m dying to go on a trip as well! Sadly we’re still too poor to swing it but hopefully this fall.
    I can’t give you any advice about DC since the only time I’ve been was with my parents in 4th grade. But you should definitely check out the Design*Sponge city guide!

  8. CaitStClair March 26, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Hah! I know that movie! Facing the Giants right? I couldn’t handle it but J likes it. But he pretty much loves all mushy sports stories.

    I’ve only been to DC once and that was for about 16 hours but we had a good time and liked where we stayed – which was surprisingly reasonable. $120 maybe? It wasn’t super close to the Mall but close enough we walked. (Holy crap! I found it! The Best Western Georgetown but I’d probably take the locals’ advice. πŸ˜‰

    • Anni March 27, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      YES. That is so hilarious, I didn’t remember the name, but I looked it up and that was it. Thanks for a laugh. πŸ™‚

  9. Emily B March 26, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    I really hope you come and we meet up!! I live in Bethesda and it’s a really fun time. But definitely stay in the city. I don’t have any recs since I’m still pretty new here, but once you get some dates locked in I can definitely help you find some stuff to do. And yes, we’re having a meet-up when you come!

  10. Jackie March 26, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    I think I know what movie you’re talking about. My mom’s friend recommended it to her and we watched it. Snooze. We’re heading off to Cali for spring break next week – road trip from Montana to Utah to LA!

    • Anni March 27, 2011 at 11:12 am #

      Sounds like so much fun! Have a great time.

  11. Catalina March 28, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    I was going to recommend Georgetown but several people beat me to it! Also, you could visit Annapolis, it’s touristy but so beautiful.
    I used to live in Bethesda and have to second (or third!) that recommendation, too.
    If you decide on New York, you should consider booking the “mystery hotel” on bookit.com, my mom got great rates (as in “I can’t believe I’m paying this in NYC” rates) and stayed at the Nu Hotel in Brooklyn, one of the nicest hotels she’s ever been to.

Leave a Reply

