Blueberry bliss.

30 Mar

In the spring, I go absolutely nuts over smoothies. I think it’s the fruit cravings (as in, I could eat nothing but fruit in the spring and be happy, albeit not healthy) and the slightly sinful texture.

Recently we’ve been making these:

I think they’re heavenly, but you should probably try them for yourself. I (very, very loosely) started with the intention of making a Green Monster smoothie but obviously the blueberries had other ideas. All of my ingredient amounts are eyeballed, but this is the basic recipe I start with, and then I taste it to make sure it’s up to previous blueberry bliss standards.

Blueberry Bliss Smoothie

1 frozen banana, pre-cut
1 1/2 cups frozen strawberries
1 cup frozen blueberries
1 cup frozen spinach
1/4 cup peanut butter
1 1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk

It’s absolutely imperative that all your  fruit is frozen, otherwise you won’t get the awesome ice cream-like texture.

13 Responses to “Blueberry bliss.”

  1. Sunny March 30, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Ooh that looks delish!

  2. Abby March 30, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Oooh, I’m going to give this recipe to my husband! He’s been looking for a great smoothie recipe, and I think this might be the ticket. 🙂

  3. Jessica March 30, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    I really need to try peanut butter in my smoothies! YUM.

  4. Maria March 30, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Love green monsters! And I really like that photo!

  5. loftyappetite March 30, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    wow gorgeous. does it really taste good with both fruit and peanut butter in it? i’ve been wanting to try that, but must admit i have been scared!

    • Anni March 30, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

      Yes! I actually love the combo. But I wouldn’t use more than 1/4 cup, because I think it’d overpower the fruit.

  6. Marissa March 30, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    this is sooo up my alley. i love that its pretty much mandatory for the fruits to be frozen, easier clean up LOL btw that picture is gorgeous.

  7. Emily B March 30, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Mmmmm that looks goooood.

  8. Married in Chicago March 30, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    The color is so pretty!

  9. Chanel March 30, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    I’m definitely going to try this!!!! OMG. But…will it taste okay without peanut butter?

    • Anni March 31, 2011 at 10:07 am #

      It’ll probably taste okay, but I would add something else to thicken it up a little. Maybe another frozen banana?

  10. megan marie March 31, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    that sounds awesome… I need to start adding nut butters to my smoothies. I have been sometimes putting in peanut flour but it just isn’t the same!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What this vegan eats, day three. (And some musings.) « Lincoln Park on a Lark - April 20, 2011

    […] Blueberry bliss smoothie  plus a lovely tupperware container of brown rice, black beans, and cheddar […]

Leave a Reply

