Guest post: Jessica from Heart on Homestead

4 Apr

This is Part 2 in my little series of guest posters. I really hope you’re enjoying getting to hear from some of my favorite bloggers, and I can’t wait to share all the exciting developments I have going on with you! I’m especially excited about today’s post because it comes from Jess, who is one of the most crazy awesome bloggers I know. Also, my dog hearts her dog.  So without further ado…

Hey y’all! I’m Jessica and you can normally find me blogging in my own little corner of cyberspace, Heart on Homestead. I’m so honored that Anni asked me to guest post! I’ve been a huge fan of her photography and blog for quite a while and rarely a day will go by that I don’t talk to this girl, it’s amazing what great friends you can find over the internet.
 
To be perfectly honest, I had no idea what to write when I was first contemplating my guest post and I think that has a lot to do with the fact that Anni and I are very different. She lives in the bustling city of Chicago when my home is situated on a dead end road in the farm country of Virginia, more specifically, the Shenandoah Valley.
 
To look out my back window and see a fabulous view of the Blue Ridge Mountains is often breathtaking, but I guess I’ve watched one too many episodes of Sex and the City because I can’t hide my jealousy. It seems so amazing to have access to specialty shops, museums and entertainment just steps from your front door and that’s something that my small town just doesn’t offer. My life consists of a thirty minute commute to work and an even farther drive to anything worthy of a Saturday night out.
 
I’m drawn to the hustle and bustle of Washington D.C., only two hours from my one acre lot, it seems like an entirely different world! Within a few miles, you have the Smithsonian, memorials, the White House not to mention countless restaurants, theatres and nightlife. As fantastic as it all sounds to me, I’m afraid I wouldn’t fit in. I say y’all too much, talk to strangers and can’t parallel park. Reading a map is like looking at a different language and I’d probably be lost 99% of the time.
Now, just so this post doesn’t sound like an ad for Washington D.C., I do have to say that I wouldn’t give up my suburban life for anything. Even though the “country air” really just smells like manure and my next door neighbors are literally goats, it’s nice here. No, we don’t have a dog park but I love that I can let my dog out without a leash and let him run around our yard. A day trip for us means exploring the local wineries and marveling at the acres of vines. If we want, we can hike in the Shenandoah National Park or camp by the river on the weekend. 
 
I guess the grass always seems greener on the other side, right?  Had you asked me a few years ago, I would have jumped on the chance to trade my three bedroom house for a studio apartment a block from the metro.  Nowadays though, I more than happy to be settling down as my husband and I celebrate our one year anniversary next month all while continuously renovating our little stone house on a dead end road overlooking Appalachia.

8 Responses to “Guest post: Jessica from Heart on Homestead”

  1. Megan April 4, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    Yay Jessica! I too love living in the country with travel to the city as an option. At first I hated the fact that if I wanted to go to the city I had to drive (I was so used to hopping on the metro) or walking everywhere, but now I am pleased as punch to live in the middle of nowhere. It’s so peaceful!

  2. Married in Chicago April 4, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    Your area sounds beautiful! I live in Chicago too and I love it for now, but eventually I’d like to move someplace just a bit more laid back.

  3. haniemarie April 4, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    I heart Jessica – so glad you featured her! We live out in the middle of nowhere but in a college town, its like the best of both worlds and I love it. I just appreciate nature too much to ever be a true city girl.

  4. MK April 4, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    I hear you! I love the hustle of the city, but LOVE the outskirts so much more. I’m dying to get further away from suburbia and more into the middle of nowhere 🙂

  5. Jessica April 4, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    Hahaha, our dogs do heart each other. 😉 Thank you for having me guest post Anni!

  6. Mrs. JYW April 4, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    I heart Anni. I heart Jess. I heart Sunday. I heart Bodie. ❤

  7. Steph April 4, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Hooray for Jessica!

    I’m definitely much more of a city person. I’ll take country for like, a week, but then I’m done. Hustle and bustle it is!

  8. jacin {lovely little details} April 4, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    love this post, it’s so great to hear the different perspective from different areas of the country!

Leave a Reply

