Let’s get this party started: signature drinks.

8 Apr

When we started looking at venues almost a year ago (this long engagement thing is a pain, but kind of handy in Chicago) one of the big musts on our list was a place that would let us bring in our own alcohol. Cafe Brauer, as gorgeous as it is, charged over $11,000 for a bar menu that included the lovely “high end” brands like Jose Cuervo. Right.

We want our guests to have lots of fun, but because we’d like to invest heavily in other areas of the night (photography and food, anyone?) we love the idea of having beer, wine (what’s a wedding without champagne?) and a few cocktails. Pretty, right?

(Source)

It sounds so simple, but when we sit down to decide on which cocktails we’re having (usually, this comes up while we’re actually drinking a cocktail) we can never decide on how many to have, and how to include variability for multiple tastes while still having fun drinks. Just between the two of us, we love margaritas, martinis, mint juleps, Manhattans, Tom Collinses, and pretty much anything that involves champagne.

Of course, then there are the fun, newish cocktails that you see as signature drinks:

(Source)

Lavender martini? Yes, please. As an aside, what’s the maximum number of martinis you can have on your signature drink list before people think you’re ridiculous? Seriously, though, we’re trying to limit ourselves to about four crowd-pleasing drinks. So what would you like to see?

10 Responses to “Let’s get this party started: signature drinks.”

  1. Emily April 8, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    I will drink wine at your wedding 🙂

    So here is my (not really) professional advice. You don’t HAVE to give guests every single kind of alcohol under the sun. If you have a vodka drink, a tequila drink, a gin drink, a rum drink, etc etc, you’re going to end up buying WAY more alcohol than you need. You might want to stick with two kinds of alcohol and make 4 drinks (so two vodka and two rum or whatever).

    Also, and you might have already thought of this, I would suggest pre-mixing the drinks. That way your guests can’t order a vodka on the rocks when they see a bottle of Absolut on the bar. “No, we have THESE 4 specialty drinks, beer, wine and champagne. That’s it.”

    I think that’s about all I can think of when it comes to this topic. If I think of anything else I’ll let you know! Hope this helped a bit 🙂

  2. jacin {lovely little details} April 8, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    um – lavender martinis? yes please.

  3. Layla April 8, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    I don’t drink, ever. But that lavender martini is trying really hard to change my mind.

  4. Maria April 8, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Yeah I agree with Em! Here are your options and you will ENJOY THEM, gosh darn it! I really don’t think people will think anything of it if you don’t have every option known to man. Personally, at such functions, I drink either beer or wine and completely skip the booze bar.

  5. Jessica April 8, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    So, when the whole blog/twitter brood shows up, be prepared to serve the booze. We’re not picky though, well, I’m not anyway. 😉

    Emily’s suggestion is good! If you’re having ONLY signature drinks as mixed drinks, pre-mixing them is a great idea.

  6. Steph April 8, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Lavender martinis??? Sign me up!

    I, for one, am a huge fan of blueberry gimlets. Mmmm. So good.

    Also. I hate how expensive alcohol can be. Right now we’re struggling with whether to have a champagne toast OR a signature cocktail. I hate that we have to choose (only serving beer and wine), but I’m leaning towards cocktail, because who doesn’t love a delicious, fruity beverage?? 😉 I think you only need a few of them, rather than a whole menu of specialty drinks.. you’ll end up buying so much extra alcohol and ingredients, I believe. So I second what Em said!

  7. Married in Chicago April 10, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    I think you should offer cocktails you like! I love the idea of maybe having two cocktails, a favorite of yours and a favorite of your fiances maybe? If people don’t want to drink them – thats on them. Besides, they can always have beer or wine.

  8. Kristin April 10, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    I agree with Married In Chicago that the signature drinks should be whatever YOU guys like to drink! That, for me, would be fun to drink – whatever the bride and groom like!

    We did vodka and rum since everyone can drink that, then put out mixers and had people make whatever they wanted 🙂

  9. Marissa April 20, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    We married on Halloween and we did a signature martini, it was a hit. We offered 200 for our 109 head count. I want to say there were about 5 or 10 left out…

  10. Daphine Mandap February 7, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    I am glad to see this you tube video at this web site, therefore right now I am also going to upload all my video lessons at YouTube web page.

Leave a Reply

