What this vegan eats, day one.

15 Apr

I’m a little bit excited and a little bit scared to be taking on this series – for seven days straight, I’m documenting everything I eat and posting it here. This is fun because I get to share with you some of my favorite foods and talk a little about what to do in those not-so-easy situations, like going out to eat in the suburbs or holiday eating. I’d love to make this a little more interactive, so feel free to ask questions or make comments!

As an aside, you can assume lots of water is a given, and any cups of coffee pictured are probably safe to x3. Any other beverages will be documented.

Day One.



From top:

Barbara’s All Natural Oat Squares and unsweetened almond milk

Intelligentsia coffee

apple, peanut butter, oatmeal and dark chocolate chip “sandwich”

homemade black bean and zucchini veggie burger with avocado on top and pretzel bun

Big Star margarita

Big Star chips and guacamole (I only had a few.)Ā 


12 Responses to “What this vegan eats, day one.”

  1. Maria April 15, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    I love the apple sandwich! So cute! And I’ve tried pinto bean burgers recently and thought they tasted great! In the past year, after reading so many vegan, vegetarian, and/or healthy living blogs, I’ve opened my options to eating more veggie friendly meals more often and try to use less meat so I am definitely looking forward to this series for more inspiration šŸ˜€

  2. Hollie @ Thrifty in White April 15, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    I’m so insanely excited for this series! I went vegan for a week for a writing project, and it was SO HARD FOR ME. I even tried making vegan cheesecake, but it tasted like cat food. šŸ˜¦

    But this stuff? Droool…looks delish!

    • Anni April 15, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      That’s not just you! Vegan cheesecake (@ the Chicago Diner) was the first vegan dessert I ever had, back when I was a vegetarian, and it turned me off of vegan food. Molly’s vegan cupcakes fixed that quite quickly!)

  3. Mrs. JYW April 15, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Yum!!!!!! I wish I had it in me to go vegan. Such dedication… LOOKS DELICIOUS! šŸ™‚

  4. Jessica @ One Shiny Star April 15, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    The last two pictures don’t work for me. šŸ˜¦

    Where do you usually get your recipes/ideas from? Do you ever see or smell non-vegan food and then go in search of a vergan alternative?

    • Anni April 15, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      Thanks Jessica! I fixed them, let me know if they still don’t work. šŸ™‚

      I love your question because I still do read non-vegan blogs and cookbooks. There are plenty of recipes with really easy substitutions – so almond milk for regular milk, etc – but sometimes I’ll get creative with it. I still read Smitten Kitchen, Big Apple Nosh, and a couple others.

      There’s not much smell-wise that I miss, I think because I’ve been a vegetarian for half of my life now. But there are smells like cookies baking that are still having me craving (vegan) cookies.

  5. Layla April 15, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    I always thought being vegan would be really difficult, but this looks like stuff I’d eat right now! So maybe it’s not as difficult as I thought. I’m so glad you’re doing this. I don’t plan on giving up anything, but I could make some small changes, like vegan or vegetarian days, if I had more of an idea of what was involved. Also, not to sound like a mom – but is that enough calories for a day? Thank you for doing this!

    • Anni April 15, 2011 at 11:36 am #

      Glad you like it! I’m excited to keep this up for seven days – and a little nervous, because sometimes my eating habits are just boring out of a lack of time.

      The calorie count for that day was about 1400 – which is actually in my maintenance zone. I usually aim for about 1200, but I don’t cut back calories for alcohol because then I’m a lightweight. Keep in mind that I’m exactly five feet tall, so my body doesn’t need nearly as many calories as someone who’s even 5’6″.

  6. Jessica April 15, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    I’m so excited for this series! Like I said before, I’m so curious about your lifestyle and it gives all us readers a chance to get to know you better.

    Love the idea of the apple sandwich, it looks so good.
    Many people get the wrong idea of how a vegan eats but I think anyone would be satisfied eating what you did here!

  7. Amanda April 15, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Wow, I’m surprised at how good that all looks – I totally don’t mean that in a bad way, but like Layla I’ve always thought being vegan would be so hard, but that all looks great!

  8. megan marie April 15, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    oooh I love seeing vegan food diaries! now I want to take photos of all my foods šŸ™‚

  9. Steph April 19, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    I’m thrilled you’re doing this.. Scot was talking about a vegan coworker the other day and how he doesn’t understand what you would be allowed to eat, and I brought up how you seem to make all this yummy stuff (from what I read here!). So this is awesome. And educational!

Leave a Reply

