This weekend and a photo shoot.

18 Apr

As life tends to go, right after my second day of taking photos for my “what this vegan eats” series, I woke up with what I can only assume was either me running on empty after days of intense course load, trying to balance my social life with meeting clients, shooting, editing, and keeping up with life in general. So for two days straight, except for a would-be photo shoot rained out to a client meeting, I just laid around and did absolutely nothing (except some Human Development essay writing.)

And you know what? It felt good.

But it meant that all I really (could) eat was some whole wheat saltines, blueberry smoothies , and, on Sunday morning, a delicious cupcake that Ross brought me. I also was in no mood to photograph any of that, so I guess we’re making this a weekday thing that will resume tomorrow. Sorry guys!

In the meantime, if you haven’t already, I’d love it if you’d take a look at my last shoot with the beautiful Katie from Latte Love. Even though it was a little gross and overcast, we had lots of fun and I’m proud of how the photos turned out! It was so much fun getting to spend some time with Katie, and I hope we get to meet up next time she heads my way. A little teaser from the shoot:

10 Responses to “This weekend and a photo shoot.”

  1. Layla April 18, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    Glad you finally got some rest! I love the pics with Katie. They are amazing.

  2. Jessica April 18, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    You have been a busy bee and needed a few days of rest. Also, I’m very jealous of your cupcake eating. WANT.

  3. Jessica April 18, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    You have been a busy bee and needed a few days of rest. Also, I’m very jealous of your cupcake eating. WANT.

  4. Amanda April 18, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    Lazy weekends are the best! And that’s a gorgeous photo!

  5. Erin April 19, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    Hope you’re feeling better! It’s nice to have that chance to refuel when you need it. The pictures of Katie are fantastic!

  6. loftyappetite April 20, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    The photos are stunning! How’d you get into photography? I just go my first DSLR and am struggling to learn all the “tricks.”

    • Anni April 20, 2011 at 9:00 am #

      Thank you! Love hearing that. 🙂

      I actually started out shooting film in high school, and I loved it. My camera was stolen, and I had to give it up because I could never afford a new one. But it was definitely always in the back of my mind.

      I fiddled around with Ross’s Nikon D40 a lot, just playing and never really showing anyone what I took. Eventually I outgrew the zoom lens and camera itself, invested in a 7D and 35 1.4, and never looked back. It’s been an adventure, and my top three pieces of advice are to 1) shoot on manual, no matter what camera you have, it’s the best way to get to know your camera. 2) try to photograph something almost every day – don’t be afraid to be that annoying person with the camera. 3) Invest in a prime lens. They have really cheap ones out there (Canon’s 50 1.8 comes to mind) that are still eons above the kit lens or zoom lenses, IMO.

      If you ever have any questions, feel free to email me! I love talking photography.

      • loftyappetite April 20, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

        I just got a prime lense, the 55mm. so between that and my kit i’ve been trying to learn and play around. so far i gotta admit my photos look similar to those taken with my point and shoot… so i feel like i’m doing something wrong. i mean they are sharper, but still not as cool looking as some of the photos i see on blogs! you should do a photography “for dummies” post 😉

  7. Dancy April 22, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Hah, I’m scrolling through my reader & I’m like – hey, I know that chick! Looks like you guys had a ton of fun! 🙂

  8. kjpugs May 13, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    Katie is so beautiful and you captured her so well!!!!

Leave a Reply

