What this vegan eats, day two.

19 Apr

I’m back and ready to go – and still excited – about my “what this vegan eats” series. Of course, I’ll be more excited when our awesome vintage pipes get their act together and stop needing work done because, guys, our sink looks like WWIII right now with nary a drop of water in sight. I’m considering heading over to World Market just to get some dishes to use in the interim.

Anyway, we did have water yesterday, so here’s what I ate!

From top:

Obligatory cereal, almond milk, and coffee

Toasted sourdough bread (one slice, cut in half) brushed with olive oil, topped with avocado and heirloom tomatoes

Grilled eggplant, zucchini, and asparagus 

Whole Foods mutli-grain veggie sushi, tofu spring rolls, and veggie egg rolls (Ross and I split these plates.) 

Glass of red wine, necessary for talking about Paris. 

11 Responses to “What this vegan eats, day two.”

  1. Erin April 19, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Isn’t that multigrain sushi soooo good? I picked it up for the first time a couple weeks ago, thinking it was just regular brown rice. I was surprised, and quite pleased, at the realization that it was so much more 🙂

    • Anni April 20, 2011 at 8:54 am #

      Yes! I love it. Although I really like the brown rice sushi, too. I think WF sushi is just amazing all around.

  2. Colleen C April 19, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    Just because I know nothing … but I know it’s important (especially now because of my pregnancy) … but can you explain where you get your protein? Thanks!!

    • Anni April 19, 2011 at 11:02 am #

      I’m really glad you asked this question Colleen! When I became a vegetarian, I totally overate on protein because of this. You know those gross fake meat Morningstar-esque products that all have 13-20 grams of protein? I ate those for two meals a day just to try to meet what I thought was the necessary amount of protein.

      When I became a vegan, I started tracking all my nutrients (I use Nutri-Calc) and what I’ve found is that though my biggest sources of protein seem small in relation to meat (we eat a lot of beans, whole grains, mushrooms, etc) they add up and I actually tend to go a little over protein each day. I think as Americans we’re constantly told to worry about how much calcium, protein, etc, is in everything that we eat, but if you look at your nutrients from everything at the end of the day, if you’re eating fresh, balanced foods, it usually evens out. I really think tracking is the best way to figure out if you’re doing it right! Although maybe don’t experiment when you’re pregnant. 😉

  3. Layla April 19, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Okay, that sandwich and the eggplant/asparagus look FAB.

  4. Laura @ Wine and Cheese, Please April 19, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    Okay, first of all YAY red wine!

    Multi-grain veggie sushi? I think I’m going to have to make a trip to Whole Foods this weekend and try this.

    You’re making me hungry =D

  5. Jessica April 19, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    That avocado and tomato open sandwich looks deelish! This also reminds me that I need to get some eggplant next time I’m at the store. *Mental note*

  6. Amanda April 19, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    Mmm that all looks so good!

  7. kelsey April 19, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    Oh wow, I’ve never had the multigrain sushi from whole foods. I’m definitely going to have to try that. It looks so yummy! Also, I’m really glad you’re doing this series, I’m vegetarian and people constantly ask me what I eat, I can’t even imagine how often you get that since you’re vegan.

    • Anni April 20, 2011 at 8:53 am #

      You know what’s funny? I got that all the time when I was a vegetarian only (~10 years) now I just get “but cheese!”

  8. Becka Robinson April 21, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

