What this vegan eats, day three. (And some musings.)

20 Apr

Day three, aka yesterday, was also known as “the day where they shut the water off before nine and didn’t turn it on until after six thirty.” Of course, this and the resulting pile of dishes sitting in the sink, unwashable, meant we had to be a bit creative. So I guess right now this series could be more accurately called “what this vegan eats when she’s trying to make as few dishes as possible.”

As a side note, unless otherwise noted, I had cereal and coffee for breakfast. Just trust me on this one, at six in the morning I’m not in a place to whip up something fresh and amazing. That would be an alternate universe Anni, one who could function before coffee and wasn’t so effing cold every morning that she walked around in blankets. And no, our apartment is not to blame for this. I’m just a naturally cold person, I guess, because I have yet to travel anywhere where I woke up and thought “now that’s perfect.” Not even Orlando in July. And that’s saying something. But I digress… yesterday’s food, sans cereal and coffee, looked a little something like this:

Shown: Blueberry bliss smoothie  plus a lovely tupperware container of brown rice, black beans, and cheddar Daiya. 

Not shown: the slice of whole wheat bread with almond butter I had on a paper towel. It just looked a little too sad to photograph! Maybe when there’s a plate involved, I’ll feel better. 

The good news is, our water was supposed to be off again today, but when I got home at 2:00 it was on. I’m crossing my fingers this means they’re done with all the repairs, and we can finally get back to normal water as scheduled, with none of this no water pressure or no hot water crap.

2 Responses to “What this vegan eats, day three. (And some musings.)”

  1. Jessica April 21, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    I really, really wish I liked beans. Make them yummy for me?

  2. Steph April 28, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Smoothies rock my socks off.

    My old apt used to just turn the water off AND NOT TELL US. It’s like.. ok, shower time.. umm nope. I had more than my fair share of stinky days, lol. Ew.

Leave a Reply

