Je m’appelle…

22 Apr

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about names. Blog names, specifically.

When I started this blog, it was mainly as a way to keep up with some friends, gather inspiration, and vent. I had no idea that I’d be heading in a more creative direction, launching a little photography venture, and (honestly) keeping people interested in what I had to say.

So I just kind of named this site off the cuff, with something I thought sounded cute. But I’ve always been a little… eh… about Lincoln Park on a Lark. Also, we live one street over, so we’re technically in Lakeview, which doesn’t have the same ring to it. Regardless, while we’ll be here at least two more years, I feel like maybe attaching a neighborhood moniker to my blog is a commitment I’m just not ready to make… or keep.

How did you decide on your blog name? Any thoughts on a big rename?

15 Responses to “Je m’appelle…”

  1. kelsey April 23, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    I spent a long time trying to figure out what to name my blog. I knew I wanted 2 words and something that when googled, it would probably be the only result. I also didn’t want the name to limit what I could talk about because I wanted to be able to talk about anything. So I played around with a lot of different words and utlimately decided on this. Good luck!! Can’t wait to hear what you pick.

  2. Married in Chicago April 23, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    For what its worth, I really like the name Lincoln Park on A Lark. But, I totally understand your desire to switch things up. When I first started blogging I used This Is How It Goes after my favorite Amie Mann song and after a while I just wanted something different.

  3. Jessica April 23, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    Naming my blog was hard and like you said, I’m not sure how in love with my own blog title I am, and technically, Kevin came up with it. Lol. I really like Lincoln Park on a Lark but totally see where you’re coming from.

    I wish I had some suggestions for you but you’ll come up with something great!

    • Lisa January 7, 2015 at 8:37 am #

      Thanky Thanky for all this good inorimatofn!

  4. Jessica @ One Shiny Star April 23, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    My blogs name is my effort to convince myself that even in a huge sea of people, I am still unique and individual… just like that one star that shines a little brighter than the rest at night. Cheesy? Yes, but it really fits with my efforts to try and improve and love myself.

    I didn’t even realize your blog name was associated with a real place… I guess only people from there would get that. I just thought it was a cute, unique name. 🙂 I won’t be changing my blog name any time soon, since I have my own domain – plus… I really like my star thing I’ve got going on. lol.

  5. Kristin April 23, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    I am the worst with coming up with clever titles or names. Very simply, I was in Japan, and now I’m in America. Wow – just typing that made me realize I’m terrible.

  6. Layla April 23, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    I love your blog name! It’s really unique and it flows….not like the “generic something” and “generic something” blog names out there (you know the ones I mean). My blog has had three different names, the first was Satan Got Her Tongue, which is a lyric from a Sonic Youth song that I loved. I basically interpreted it to be a sarcastic, biting person…which is very much what I was (am?). But I think people got the wrong idea (the word satan and all). I changed it to Laylaville after that, because it’s been a running joke my whole life that my own little world is perfect and if we’d all just go there…well, friends have referred to my little world as Laylaville, so it stuck. The last and final name is also a favorite lyric from a Sonic Youth song. Not terribly original, but the song is perfect, so I chose to keep it.

  7. Laura April 25, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    My husband actually came up with my blog name because when he asks what I want at the store I always say “wine and cheese, please!”. When I deleted my old blog and was trying to think of a new one, he was like ‘you should name it something with wine and cheese…”. It was random, and I’m not in love with it, but it fits me.

    I like the name Lincoln Park on a Lark too 🙂

  8. loftyappetite April 25, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    I also had a hard time, and a lot of the ones I thought of were taken so I was frustrated, but it was good because it made me think out side the box. We were about to move into a new condo with a loft, so i wanted to play around with incorporating that because we were so excited about the loft. I also wanted to center it around food because i love food and need to cook more so i can get better at it, so that’s where the appetite came from. I’ve never been too attached to it, but I think i’m growing into it and I love that it allows me to have more room for other things and not just food. I love your name, but good luck with the creative process!

  9. Reyna April 25, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    I think it’s hard to come up with a “really” good blog name when your thinking too hard about it. I came up with my blog name out of the blue one day, when I created it, since then the direction off my blog has completely changed (for the better!) and the blog name still fits. I think the best blog names just happen!

  10. Blueberries For Me April 25, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    I had a blog called “bruins and brews” for like a week. I was really excited about the name, then I was diagnosed with a condition that means I can’t drink coffee, tea, or beer. All the good “brews” are out. So I changed names after that! My name now isn’t great, but it works.

  11. Marissa April 25, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    I was just asked this question – My blog is a twist on my maiden name. All of my friends call me some variation of my maiden name, the most popular are Hersh or Hershy. Since I now go by my married name, its a reminder that with my new last name I’ll always be the same person everyone knows, Hershy. The Corner part, I wanted something that was like my nook on the web and corner turned out to be perfect. Plus is has a lot of ways to play off it.

  12. French Lily April 25, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    I know what you mean by blog name regret. I don’t think I thought through all the connotations of my blog name before picking it.

    But if it’s worth anything to you, I recently started reading your blog because of it’s name. My husband and I are thinking of staying in Chicago after he graduates (still a few years away), and we’ve looked at moving to Lincoln Park or some of the other nice north side neighborhoods when he has a real job, so it was fun for me to find your blog and read about your “Lincoln Park” life. I’ve enjoyed it.

    • Anni April 25, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

      Thank you for your kind words! I do love Lincoln Park/Lakeview, and the whole energy of the city. We will definitely be here at least two more years (resigning our lease! exciting!) so there will continue to be plenty of Chicago-centered posts for the time being, and I have a sneaking suspicion Chicago will always be the home we come back to.

  13. Steph April 28, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    I really like your blog name, it’s cute 🙂 But I do understand wanting to switch it up. I kind of hate mine right now, because it just feels so.. depressing? I don’t know. I created it almost 4 years ago now and I’ve definitely grown from it. Such a big step to do a rename though!

Leave a Reply

