Brain dump 2.

26 Apr

I hope you all had a lovely holiday weekend, whether you celebrate or not! Mine was certainly hectic, and everyday life is a bit of a relief. I think today’s a wonderful day for a brain dump post!

1) I am currently enamored with the idea of an unfussy but still gorgeous fresh poppy bouquet for the wedding. This bride went to a farmer’s market the morning of and made her own! Ambitious.

(source)

2) I want to know how this girl manages to look cute and stylish in wellies. I love my black ones, but they always look and feel clunky somehow. And they’re the exact ones she’s wearing, but in black. If I was to attempt pairing them with a dress, it would look ridiculous. Height issue, maybe? Also, at the rate we’re going with rain on days when I have shoots planned, I feel like I’m in reschedule and stay glued to weather.com limbo. No fun!

                                                                                                                  (source)

3) Does anyone else read Dear Prudie as obsessively as I do? I adore her. I also wonder, time and again, why in the world I don’t subscribe to Slate considering one of my very favorite authors writes a column for them, and Dear Prudie writes for them. Alas, Vogue is my only current subscription. As my bank likes to inform me time and time again, I’m flat broke.

4) We got the official lease sent over, and I’m so excited to renew! It’s nice to have some stability for the next two years, and to allow myself to fully settle in without that looming “will I have to pack up everything I own for the seventhy zillionth year in a row?” feeling.

16 Responses to “Brain dump 2.”

  1. Blueberries For Me April 26, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Skirts and galoshes were standard fare where I went to college! I had cute pink ones with roses on them, but after college I moved to a desert and had no need for them.

    I wanted poppies, too, but the florist warned me they fall apart really easily.

    • Jaylyn January 7, 2015 at 10:22 am #

      Thank you so much for this arcetli, it saved me time!

  2. Maya April 26, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    I love Dear Prudie too– she is awesome! Another great advice columnist is Carolyn Hax of the Washington Post.

    • Anni April 27, 2011 at 10:57 am #

      I love Carolyn now, too! Was it you who recommended her to me on Twitter a few weeks ago? If it was, thank you, because I’ve been reading Dear Prudie for years, but now I have Carolyn archives to go through!

  3. Hannah April 26, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    I live in Florida – I gave up on rain boots long ago (our rains are for just an hour, every afternoon of the summer – they’re usually sun showers) and I just roll up my pants and put on a pair of flip flops.

    I’ve never pulled off the wellie look!

    Love the flowers, very pretty. Do they grow in season during your wedding? We got our magnolias (that are in bloom now!) for free – our caterer cut them off the tree in her yard!

  4. mm April 26, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    I’ve never been able to pull of wellies either, even though everyone else looks so good in them. (I’m sure you do, too.)

    Slate is a free online magazine! I subscribe through Reader — mostly for Prudie, who is insightful if sometimes off the mark — maybe you could, too?

    • Anni April 27, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      You’re right! Was it ever a print magazine? I feel like I had a print edition years back, but now that I look at the site it’s all online.

  5. Abby April 26, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    I don’t have wellies, but I feel fairly confident that I couldn’t pull them off, either. We’ve been getting more than our fair share of rain here in WI, too – I’m ready for summer!

  6. Amanda April 26, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    I love Dear Prudie! I read it somewhat obsessively!

  7. Jessica April 26, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    What a great idea to pick up flowers at the farmers market for a bouquet, they’re so pretty too.

    I’ve never pulled off the rain boot look, I normally wear mine under my jeans instead of with a skirt or with skinny jeans. :/

  8. Layla April 26, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    People laugh at me when I wear my rain boots! I totally don’t get it, but people here just think they’re silly. I think they’re functional and adorable, so whatever! 😛 I will help you make your bouquet! Gah, I want another wedding.

    • Anni April 27, 2011 at 10:58 am #

      Yay! I’m holding you to that. 🙂

  9. ms. awesome/tabitha April 26, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    Ooh! I love that Poppy bouquet! And what can I say, for better or worse, I rock those exact same wellies (also in black) whenever it rains…

  10. Steph April 28, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Oh geez I’d love to look that cute in rain boots. Not happening, lol.

    And I love the poppy idea!! So springy and fresh 🙂

  11. Gogo April 29, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    Yeah I think the boots is a height thing – or at least a long slim legs thing.

    I love bouquets like that too. What date are you getting married?

    • Anni April 29, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      June 23rd, 2012!

Leave a Reply

