Cookies to indulge in.

28 Apr

Before I became a vegan, I was a total baking snob. I had recipes lined up for absolutely everything, and I’d be damned if they weren’t the best recipes. But it’s taken me awhile to build up my vegan arsenal, because while there are many wonderful recipes out there, there are also many so-so and terrible ones that make you swear all vegan food must be gross (it’s not.)

I had previously been tinkering with a chocolate chip cookie recipe from one of my favorites, and while I loved it, it wasn’t the be-all, end-all that I was looking for. Some days, a girl just wants one of those cookies that is so rich and decadent, you don’t need more than one (but you’ll probably have it anyway.)

So I set out to make my own. And you know what? They turned out exactly how I planned! Usually when I make a recipe it ends in a few heartbreak batches (see vegan macarons, which will be ready for publication at some point, I swear.)

Anyway, if you’d like to try baking a vegan chocolate chip cookie, and you like chewy on the edges, soft in the middle decadent, lovely bakery-style cookies, I do believe you’ll enjoy these.

(This photo is actually of previous cookies, but a certain someone ate up all the current batch before I had a chance to take a photo.)

Ingredients 
2 sticks of Earth Balance butter substitute, softened (not melted!)
3.5/4 cups granulated sugar
1 1/8 cups packed light-brown sugar
6 tablespoons of original Vegenaise (the canola oil version would work well, too)
2 cups of all purpose flour
1 cup of oat flour (if you have rolled oats, you can simply put them in a food processor until they’re flour consistency, then measure out your one cup)
1/2 tablespoon sea salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
a block of dark chocolate, coarsely cut into large chunks OR Valrhona fevres, or large baking chunks. These cookies really work best with a high cocoa count, but semi-sweet is fine, too.

Preheat oven to 350. Cream together the white sugar, brown sugar, and Earth Balance. When combined well, add the Vegenaise. Mix in the vanilla, then the dry ingredients. Add flour one cup at a time, mixing between. Add chocolate, then scoop onto lightly greased or lined cookie sheet (I recommend NOT using a non-stick cookie sheet) and bake, about 15 minutes for average-sized cookies, closer to 20 for bakery-sized.

8 Responses to “Cookies to indulge in.”

  1. Laura April 28, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Okay, just let me know when you’re mailing my batch of cookies to me 🙂

    I’m going to have to try making these…I love vegan chocolate chip cookies!

  2. jacin {lovely little details} April 28, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    whoa….. YUM.

  3. Steph April 28, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Are these the ones you sold for the bake sale?? They look just divine!! Go you for coming up with it on your own 😉

    • Anni April 29, 2011 at 10:29 am #

      No, I actually used Isa Chandra’s recipe for those (though I tweaked it) – the photo is from the bake sale though! I am much happier with this recipe, although those were great, too, and it’ll be my go-to from now on.

  4. Married in Chicago April 28, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    yum! cookies that are still soft in the middle are my favorite!

  5. Gogo April 29, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    I am a baking snob too! I’m not vegan, but I love to try out vegan recipes so this one is going on the roster. I feel like I can trust you 🙂

    I’m working on a perfect non-vegan chocolate chip cookie recipe, myself. I have several different articles tagged for cross-comparison along with some research on how aging your dough 36 hours results in optimal chocolate chip cookies.

    • Anni April 29, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      Aw, thank you! I hope you find the right one. I used to refrigerate mine for 24 hours – something about the egg and sugar binding better? I figure without any eggs in these, there’s probably no point. But that would make for an interesting taste test!

  6. Kristin May 1, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    I have to admit – I always shy away from vegan baked goods. But those look LOVELY!

Leave a Reply

